Writing

The Great Procrastinator…Tomorrow

In case you didn’t know, it’s National Novel Writing Month in which the aspiring novelist writes a 50,000 word novel in 30 days…if you dare.  I was planning on participating until I forgot about it (conveniently, I might add).  When it comes to writing, I mean well but in the end, I always find an excuse as to why I shouldn’t be writing. I have homework to do, I’m too tired to do it right now, the potential boyfriend is coming over, I just started reading a new book, I don’t feel like writing, I don’t have any ideas

…and the list continues on. For every attempt at writing, I have at least 500 excuses as to why I shouldn’t be writing. I know I’m not the only one who does it, but sometimes it feels like I’m the only one out in the wilderness of nothing.

Why do we writers always give excuses for not giving into our art? We have nothing to lose and there’s always going to be someone who’s worse at it than us, right? And anyway, we’ve all gotta start somewhere…

…Maybe it’s because we’re afraid. We’re afraid of the power of our own words. We’re afraid of how moving our writing could possibly be and do for us and others. We’re afraid of being transformed.

In the meantime…where’s that book I was reading?

Tell me your thoughts.

