Black Friday

It would be a typical Friday except for the fact that it’s the Friday after Thanksgiving, which means it’s Black Friday.  After a day filled with feasting on great food (turkey, ham, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, cornbread, cookies) and thankfulness (I’m thankful for not getting sick or having diarrhea from too much food or getting too wound up by dramatic extended-family members), Americans promptly forget about the reason for the season in order to pursue the “benefits” of shopping for good deals.

I don’t know about you, but I don’t find getting trampled and then waiting in line for hours just to find something I need to buy for Christmas very appealing. As much as I love to be in the thick of things and people watching going out on Black Friday is not the type of “getting into the thick of things” that would be very enjoyable.

How did America get to the point where every holiday has to be commercialized? Holidays are supposed to focus in on what matters most, not what gifts a person gets? Granted, I love presents like any other person, but I’d rather hang out with the people I enjoy being with than wallow in misery trying to get the presents.

So while you’re out fighting the crowds, think about this: Is it worth it? Can it wait? What matters the most?

Happy Thanksgiving and holidays.

Tell me your thoughts.

