Star Wars (Re) Visited

Last night I watched Star Wars Episode III for the first time. I was a little apprehensive since I had such low opinion of the first two movies in the prequel trilogy. I was pleasantly surprised when the movie turned out better than I was expecting it to be. The last 4o minutes of the movie seemed especially poignant to me; the transformation from Anakin Skywalker to Darth Vader was mind blowing. The final battle between master and padawan, the fight between Jedi (Yoda) and the Senate (Palpatine) were exquisite. When I first watched the original trilogy, I wondered how Darth Vader became Darth Vader and how it came to be that he fathered two children, Luke and Leia. The Revenge of the Sith was a complement to the original movies.

I know that the prequel trilogies as a whole can never reach the standards that the original trilogy set, especially when looking at some of the plot, characters, and acting that was set. But I think the movies serve their purpose in explaining some of the background of Star Wars.

After seeing the entire prequel trilogy, I have to admit that it doesn’t surprise me that Anakin became Darth Vader. Since he was a kid, he was arrogant and overconfident in his abilities. Because they treated him like he was something special, he became spoiled, impulsive and passionate, easily giving into his feelings and angry when he didn’t get his way.  He went to the dark side because Palpatine offered Anakin something that the Jedi Order refused to grant him. It’s tragic, but foreseeable to a certain extent.

While I didn’t like the prequel trilogy as a whole, there were minor parts in the movie that were phenomenal. I’m unsure of whether or not I’ll watch them again anytime soon, seeing the saga in its entirety (so far) was a good experience to have gone through. I’ll be interested to see how any future movies will pan out and whether or not they will surpass any expectations that people have of the new trilogy.

Tell me your thoughts.

