Writing

A Year Abroad

If you were asked to spend a year living in a different location, where would you choose and why?

This is a difficult question to answer. For someone like me, how can you possibly choose where you would like to spend a whole entire year? My initial thought was someplace where they speak Spanish, in Spain or Costa Rica or Mexico. I took Spanish class in both high school and college and I always wanted to learn how to speak it fluently. Spending a year in a Spanish speaking country would definitely help me speak it fluently, especially if I spent the time in a small town where very little English is known (if at all). Sure, it’d drive me crazy the first couple of months trying to figure out the language, but I think I’d be comfortable with it by the end of the year, almost like it was my own language.

Ireland, Scotland, Australia, and New Zealand have also crossed my mind. These are places that I’ve always wanted to see and maybe even live for any length of time, so perhaps spending the year in those countries would be the ideal place for me to go. To see the lush greenery of Ireland and New Zealand, to observe ancient Celtic traditions in Scotland, to tread through the Australian desert would be absolutely amazing to me. It would be life changing, with memories that’d last for the rest of my life, making me ache for more.

Scotland would be particularly appealing because my nana’s family came to England from Scotland. It would be amazing to learn more about the country, see where my relatives came from, spend the year there and live how they lived. Learn about their culture. Ireland for the same reasons, only a little more distant and through marriage at that.

But maybe, when it comes down to it, I’d spend the year in London. I’ve been to the city several times due to having family living in England and I’ve always felt a connection to the ancient city. It never tires me, seeing Big Ben and the London Eye, the Tower of London and the River Thames. I love sitting in the gardens of Buckingham Palace and watching the throngs of people make their way up to the palace gates to take a picture for their collection. It always felt to me like a small town in a big city atmosphere. Maybe someday I’ll go back and stay. For a year, a couple…forever.

Tell me your thoughts.

