I Remember Him

I still remember him.

His scent. The way his hand felt in mine.

The way he held me close, how he made me smile.

I remember that he made me happy. I wanted it to be different this time.

To call someone my boyfriend for the first time.

I remember the way he said goodbye.

It wasn’t going to be different.

I was sad. Disappointed. Crushed.

I couldn’t stop it.

How do you stop a broken heart?

How do you move on from something that never even began?

How do you say goodbye to a dream?

I still remember him, and I weep.

Tell me your thoughts.

