Writing

All You Need Is Love

I hate it when someone tells me that I’ll fall in love one day, despite the fact I’ve made it clear that I have no intentions in getting into a relationship, let alone get married. I made this decision for myself because it felt like the right thing to do, a healthy choice that would ultimately benefit me as a whole person. What right does anybody have to tell me that my lifestyle choice in the way of relationships is wrong?

With that being said, I’d equally hate it if I was dating someone with whom I was completely in love with and someone told me that I wasn’t allowed to marry him. Who gave you the right to tell me that my choice is wrong? Who gave you the right to decide what was good for me and what isn’t?

This is why I support gay marriage, and marriage equality in general. I may be a straight, God fearing girl, but I don’t believe that anybody has any right to tell another person how to live their life. God told me to love other people as if they were my flesh and blood in spite of them having views or lifestyles different to mine. If someone would read the Bible, they would find that Jesus didn’t walk among the elite. He didn’t walk among the people who were doing everything right in God’s eyes. No, Jesus walked among the poor, the broken, the defeated, the godless. He hung out with people who shared views and lived a different way of life than Jesus would’ve listened. He didn’t care, because they were His brothers and closest friends regardless. Would you cast your brother out for choosing a lifestyle different from yours? He’s still your brother, no matter how much you want to deny it.

That is how we should see all people: as brothers, sisters, and friends. Love them, support them, be friends with them. You don’t force a person to come to your side through fear, fire, and brimstone. Who wants to be on your side when all you present is anger, hate, and a life of hell? A person, regardless of their sexual preference should be allowed to pursue a healthy, loving relationship with someone with whom they feel connected to on every level without the fear of another doing everything they can to prevent it from happening. It’s not as if that person’s lifestyle is being detrimental to another person’s.

We live in a land where our documents tell us that we have the right to “life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness” and yet we still hold prejudices big enough to prevent a group of people from doing just that.

Even if you’re not in the gay community, relationships are a hard thing. If you’re single, you’re expected to go through a series of dating experiences until you find the one who best matches you. On a daily basis, you are reminded of your singularity and ultimately made to feel guilty that you haven’t found love yet with the continuous pressure to get out and find the one. Even if you’ve made it clear of your intentions to remain single, people smile down upon you like a small child who doesn’t know any better as if to say “Poor thing, what does she know about life? One day, someone’s going to make you change your mind.”

If you are in a good relationship, you’re expected to eventually get married and have children. If you’re not on the road to matrimony and procreation, then you have not done your duty to society. Your life has become moot and meaningless. Isn’t the obvious love between these two people enough? Finding love in one another should be enough to give life meaning in both of their lives as well as their life’s work. Their love will drive every good thing in society, to help them push on to another day. Marriage and children doesn’t stop any of that.

All I’m saying is let people govern their lives the way they see fit. As long a person isn’t plundering, pillaging, murdering, terrorizing and generally being a menace to society in any of those and other related terms, then I don’t see what the problem is. I don’t want to be made to feel guilty or hindered for choosing to remain single, nor do I want anybody else to be made to feel the same way and worse for choosing their path, whether it’s being single or with a man or a woman in a relationship or marriage.

Finding true love (or the right lifestyle) is such a hard thing to find to begin with. Why make it harder for someone who actually found it?

Tell me your thoughts.

