Ghostly Voices

Every now and then, there comes a point in a person’s life when going to sleep right away is hard to come by. When those kinds of nights hit me, I sometimes listen to music in order for me to relax and drift off to sleep.  Several years ago, when I was still in high school, I had one of these nights where I needed to pull out my walkman (this was back before iPods were the mainstream).

On this particular night, I heard what sounded like my mom calling my name. Thinking she caught me awake, I quickly put my walkman between the covers and pretended to go to sleep. Several minutes went by, but nobody came into my room.

“I must have been hearing things,” I thought, pulling my walkman out again and pressing play.

Several minutes later, I heard my name being called again.

“Alright, that’s it,” I thought. “I’m putting my walkman away.”

I turned over to my side to put my walkman on my nightstand. But as I turned onto my side, I came face to face with the profile of a ghostly woman. Her hair was done up like in the 1800’s or early 1900’s style, her dress flowing down behind her, the dress’s collar up around her neck. She would’ve been beautiful, except for the fact that she was ghostly white and I could see right through her.

As soon as I saw her, she immediately started walking, went through my end table and wall lamp, disappearing into the wall. I quickly threw my walkman onto the end table and threw my blankets over my head.

I never saw the lady again, but neither could I figure out who she was. Our house was built in 1958 with my family being only the second people to own the place. Maybe she lived in the area and her house got destroyed. Perhaps she was one of the millions who traveled past the area on the way out west. Maybe she was attached to one of the many antiques that we have in the house. Or maybe she was just a lonely soul following me home, wishing for someone to know she made a mark on this earth…

2 thoughts on “Ghostly Voices

Tell me your thoughts.

