Oh, Baby

Today, a friend of mine and I were discussing families and babies in particular. She’s one of those individuals who doesn’t want to have anything to do with having her own children. It’s not that she doesn’t love kids, because if she didn’t, she’d be in the wrong line of work. The fact of the matter is that she loves that she can play with and spoil other kids and send them on home and doesn’t want her own children that she has to look out for 24/7 (being the independent, career minded woman that she is). When I mentioned that I used to want a lot kids, anywhere up to about 5, she asked me why I wanted so many kids.

So why did I want to have a lot of kids? Well, it’s kind of simple. Being an only child growing up, I longed to have brothers and sisters to play with. While I enjoyed it a lot of the time, living a quiet lifestyle got to be really boring. Most of my cousins in my family are older or younger than me by a lot of years (the two closest to my ages are four years older and seven years younger) and lived far enough away so that I didn’t have any playmates. Whenever I was around my friends who had a lot of siblings, I envied the close relationship that my friends and their siblings had as well as the never ending hustle and bustle of the household. Because of this, I vowed that when I got married and had kids, I would have enough kids that would keep things busy.

These days, I’m not so sure if I want to have so many kids. Five seems to be pushing the edge of sanity and little free time. But at the same time, I still love  the idea of a bigger family than I’ve been used to. While the decision of falling in love, getting married, and eventually having kids is still up in the air for me (as I’m still very much in love with singledom), I know that if there is ever a change to where I fall in love and get married, I know I’d like to have at least two or maybe three kids. It’s not as many as five, but still big enough to keep you on your toes in a good way.

But as life goes, decisions and ideas fade in and out. So maybe in another few years, I’ll decide that one (or none at all!) would be the best idea after all. One can never know how life will pan out and even the best laid plans can change in an instant. So, for now, I’ll travel down the road free and easy and let the future stay in the future until I get there.

What about you? Do you want children? If so, how many do you want and why?

Tell me your thoughts.

