Writing

Just Write and It Will Come to You

Sometimes it’s hard to think of what to write for my blog. Do I write something personal? Do I write what I’m thinking about at the time? Do I write about what’s going on in the world around me? Do I write about something creative? Am I writing about the same things too much all the time? And how formal should I get? Maybe today is a black tie affair, where everything has to be said just so. Or maybe it’s a beach party with people wearing bikinis and Hawaiiain shirts. Or maybe it’s just a relax, family fun atomosphere. Should I even write what I want to talk about, is it going to offend someone?

It’s so hard to decide sometimes. Sometimes I want to talk about something but don’t feel like I know enough about the topic to make an informed, honest opinion about the subject. Sometimes I don’t have the patience to sit down and write something deep and thought-provoking so it comes out shallow and worthless (in my opinion).

So why do I blog? Because I love writing. I love feeling the words flow through my fingers onto the screen (or page). I love sharing my thoughts with others. I continue to blog because writing (or any kind of creativity) exercises the mind and helps me practice at becoming a better writer. I blog because it’s a form of writing that I can do on a (semi?) regular basis that keeps me writing. It helps my creative ideas flow through my mind. Am I making any sense? Am I repeating myself? I hope not.

I also read a lot of blogs. Sometimes I read the whole entry and other times Ijust skim through it. Reading other people’s blogs helps spark ideas for my own blog, because sometimes even the best of us writers need to constantly read in order to be exposed to various types of writing styles, ideas, and opinions. Nothing could ever go wrong with reading more books and blogs. Reading is learning, learning is truth, and the truth will set you free. Kind of like faith. The more you read about the good news, the more you trust and the more you seek truth and the truth of God will set you free. Maybe you have something similar in your religion, but that is what I see in mine.

What do you write about in your blog?

Tell me your thoughts.

