Writing

Keeping the Faith

I’m not sure if I mentioned it on this blog, but since the end of June and the beginning of July, I’ve been reading the Bible on a more regular basis. Even though I consider myself a Christian and talk to God constantly, I’ve not been reading my Bible regularly. In fact, before now, I can’t even remember the last time I read it. I felt a little ashamed. After all, I’m supposed to be a born again Christian! How can a person like me not read her Bible? From that point on, I’ve been trying to read on a more regular basis.

I decided to start with the New Testament and have been reading a book a week for the most part. I’m beginning to love these little moments with God, delving into His word and actually coming into knowledge of my faith. When I heard that the more you read the Bible, the more you come to trust God, I never believed it. But now I do. The more I read, the more I pray, the more I feel God, and the more I trust and feel protected by His grace.

I probably should’ve done this a long time ago, but I didn’t. So many things have gotten in my way, work, school, little worries that stopped me from coming to God and putting it all into His hands. After all, if God is for you, who can be against you?

St. Francis of Assisi is often acreddited with the words “Preach the gospel at all times, and when necessary, use words.” I love these words because I believe it goes hand in hand with what Jesus taught in the New Testament. We need to become Christ-like in our actions, we need to shine out like a lamp on the hill as Jesus encouraged his followers. Actions speak louder than words. We can talk about the gospel, tell others about God and His expectations, but it’s nothing if we ourselves don’t practice what we preach.

This is probably why so many people have turned away from God because there are a lot of Christians who, with the best of intentions, push them away. They are all talk with no walk. A lot of people know I’m a Christian, but it’s not because I talk about it constantly (tho it does come up with religious beliefs come up in conversation), but because of my actions. I try to infuse the teachings into my actions in order to become more godly. In that way, people can see my actions as following that to Christ’s. I’m the light of the world, as He said, which means everybody can see what I’m doing. Why not make your actions so that people can look at you and say “This is someone who is following Christ.”

Of course, sometimes your actions aren’t always clear. Sometimes people don’t understand why you’re doing the things you do. In this case, you do need to use words to explain why you’re doing the things you do. You may not be perfect, but at least you’re striving towards the Christian faith.

I may be getting it all wrong, but this is how I view. And really, isn’t that all we’re expected to do? To make it our best attempt to become the best we can be and to love love and accept others? God is love and love is what makes the world go ’round.

Tell me your thoughts.

