Why Do You Blog?

There was a daily post prompt a few days ago asking the readers why they started their blog (you can find the original post here if you’re interested) and it got me thinking about why I blog and the blog(s) I keep and have kept.

I’m the type of person who loves keeping journals. When I was growing up, there was no such thing as blogs and if there were, they were for computer techhies doing whatever it is that they do. The internet was in its infancy, so not a lot of people had the Internet. My family was one of those people. I didn’t get my computer until I was 15. So when it came to recording my thoughts, I had to use the traditional pen and paper kind of books (which I still keep, even though it’s not on a regular basis like it used to).

Once I got a computer, the world of blogs slowly began to open up for me. I’ve had blogs at different websites, mostly because my friends also had blogs on that site and I wanted to be able to follow and connect with them. Now that they don’t update their blogs there anymore (if they even keep a blog anymore) and now that I’ve come to realize there’s other (more sophisticated) blog sites out there in the past few years, I’ve begun to branch out and create blogs on sites that don’t have the stigma of being clunky or too bedridden with teeangers.

I didn’t really have any expectations for ordinarytravels. I created it because I heard many good things about WordPress and I wanted to create a blog on here and just play around with it and see what it has to offer. I posted a few posts, but mainly kept away. But as time went on, the more I began to blog here than on my other blog at the time. The more I enjoyed writing here. I loved the different formats I could use, but I especially loved how I could get more followers here than anywhere else.

I also love the fact that WordPress keeps the whole website updated. It promotes different blogs on a regular basis, gives you ideas on what to write about and keeps everything clean, current, and organized and that’s why I’m here.

If you’ve followed me for some time, you would know that I don’t focus on an overriding theme for my blog. While others have travel, fashion, book, writing, cooking and photography blogs (amog other topics I’m not doubt missing), I just blog about whatever comes to mind. I blog about the movies I’ve seen, the people I hang out with, what happened at work, you name it, I’ve talked about it. I’m just a general, personal blogger. At one time I felt guilty about not focusing on one topic since a lot of blogs on here do just that and I wanted to become more like their blogs. But do you know what?

It doesn’t really matter. I’m not THOSE bloggers. I’m only me. If I want to write about whatever I feel like writing about at that time, then that’s okay. Other people have blogs for their purposes, I have my blog for mine. And my blog (and blogs) make me happy. And really, that’s all that really matters.

Tell me your thoughts.

