Writing

Every Day Is a New Beginning

Yesterday I got to talk to C. for about 30 or 40 minutes. It made me happy to talk to him. I wish we could see each other in person, but it’s probably not going to happen this weekend, which makes me sad since he makes me happy. I’m sure everybody’s tired of me talking about it, so I won’t go completely ape about it today.

I’ve got two movies checked out from work that I really want to watch but haven’t made myself sit down and watch yet. They are Life of Pi and Texas Chainsaw Massacre: The Beginning. I know, you’re probably wondering about the latter, but let me explain, or at least try to.

I’m the type of person who enjoys scary movies. I don’t watch them all the time because frankly the horror genre is (and has been) going down on the decline for the last few years, maybe even more. Most of them these days are slasher movies and that kind of thing gets really old. I have a feeling that Texas Chainsaw and all its sequels and remakes is very much slasher, but for whatever reason, I want to watch them. Texas Chainsaw Massacre is a classic in the horror field and I’d like to watch it just to say that I did, even if I don’t particularly like it. Soo…I got The Beginning. I think it was recently made, so it’s not like the original (or even the remake), but we’ve all got to start somewhere, right? I’ll probably come back on here later and say that I didn’t even watch it, because I’m the type of person to check things out at work and then return it because a.) I didn’t have time to watch it or b.) because I decided I didn’t want to watch (or read) it after all.

The other movie of course is Life of Pi. I read the book earlier this year and really loved the author’s storytelling and writing style. I read it because I knew the movie was coming out on DVD soon and knew that it had won a lot of awards at the Oscars this year. It’s been some time since I read the book, but I remember the thrill of reading Pi’s survival and philosophical awakening throughout his time out at sea. The movie probably doesn’t do the book justice, but it’s almost like watching a runaway train wreck, you can’t help but watch it.

What kinds of movies to you like to watch or tend to avoid?

Tell me your thoughts.

