Writing

Continuing the Education (Or Not)

Yesterday, someone I know asked me if it felt weird not to be going back to school this fall. I said that in a way, it did feel kind of weird. I spent so many years going to school and studying that to not have any kind of school related activities keep me busy every day makes me feel a little sad. It makes me think “There’s other ways to keep myself busy other than school?! I had no idea!!

She also asked me if I was going to go on for my Ph.D. and I said, IDK, I thought about it a little bit, but I think I’ll take a break.” She agreed with me and soon the conversation tapered off to other things.

But I’ve started to think about it again. Do I really need to get my Ph.D.? Do I want to get it? And am I getting the degree because I want to and feel the need to or am I only doing it because other people think I should?

To be honest, I haven’t thought about getting my Ph.D. in a really long time, several months to a year practically. When I do think about it, I feel sort antagonostic towards the whole idea. If I’m honest with myself, I don’t really want to go back. As much as I liked going to college and such, I don’t long to see myself working my way through my doctorate just because people think I should and not because I want to.

To me, getting a doctorate at this point in time seems such a wasted time and effort. Studying and becoming more adept at one subject is enticing to a certain degree, but the idea of becoming too overqualified for any position doesn’t. I think the only thing one could possibly do with a doctorate is teach at the college level. While I’d love to work at the college level at some point, hedging myself into the corner until it’s my only position is not.

To make a long story longer, I don’t think I want to get my Ph.D. I’m content at where I’m at in this part of my life and and studying some more doesn’t seem appealing. If I do go back to school, I just want to go back for another master’s degree, preferably in something that’s staying consistent for a while (not many people want school librarians these days).

I know it’s a little too early to make assumptions that I’ll never get it, but I’m fairly certain that a doctorate is not going to be in my future in the next 10 or 15 years. I have other career plans to get out of my way first.

Have you ever considered furthering your education? Was it because you wanted/needed to or because someone pushed you to go further even when you didn’t want to?

Tell me your thoughts.

