Eating the Blogs

So, I follow a food blog. Just one food blog, mind you. I don’t normally follow food blogs because I’m not a cook and hate the idea of cooking, period. But I follow this one particular food blog because the girl follows my book blog. And to be honest, she’s actually an interesting writer. Not all her entries are related to cooking, but a vast majority of them are. Her writing’s conversational and engaging and while I don’t read everything she writes, I enjoy taking a visit to her site every now and again.

Whenever she writes about the food that she’s cooked, she almost always includes a picture of what she’s writing about and the food always looks so beautifully arranged and delicious. I wish I was creative in the art of cooking, but it’s definitely not my thing.

I’m kind of a jealous person in the way of artistic endeavors though. I see others in their creative pursuits and wish that I could be as talented as they are and it doesn’t really matter what the pursuit is. Painting, drawing, cooking, music, singing, dancing, acting, you name it, I’ve probably wished I was as well endowed in the said area. It’s like the grass is always greener on the other side and we all long to be on that side rather than looking at what we have and being thankful for it.

There’s this quote that I read once that said that we always thinkg the grass is greener on the other side, but if we watered the grass on our side it would be just as green. So maybe instead of wishing for what we don’t have, we should take a look at what we do and cultivate it to make it just as green, if not a bit greener.

Tell me your thoughts.

