To Be Honest About Politics

To be honest, I hate talking about politics. Period. There is only the rare occasion when I feel it necessary to speak up about something, but only when I feel so strongly about something that I don’t mind being attacked or having an argument about it.

And that’s the reason why I don’t discuss politics or even admit to which political party I’m aligned with. I don’t want to be stereotyped and hated just because of my political party. I don’t want to be lectured about why I shouldn’t be a part of the group a person’s against. I don’t want to be ostracized.

And to realize and admit this scares me. In a country where diversity in opinions, customs, culture, and beliefs are supposed to be celebrated and respected, many of us Americans are only divided and prejudiced towards one another.

Republicans are evil and corrupted, Democrats have messed up the country; at least, that’s what it appears to be implied and said depending on who you’re talking to. And depending on who you talk to, the person will explain (or at least try and convince you) about why one or the other political party should no longer be in office in Washington.

And to be honest, I hate it. I hate that it’s an either/or situation here in America. You are either liberal or conservative, black or white. There are never shades of gray and if you are, it’s like being a square peg in a round hole. It just doesn’t fit right.

In other countries, you’ll see many, many different kinds of political parites, so many that it feels like there’s one for every day of the week, every day of the year. I wish we had that here. I wish we had different parties, different voices, different choices. No one way or another, no great divide. No hate because I’m one over the other with a difference in opinion.

And really, isn’t that all anybody really wants?

Political Parties

Tell me your thoughts.

