Writing

Reading Through the Bible

In case you didn’t know, I’m currently reading through the Bible. I’ve been wanting to read it all the way through for several years now, but never went through with it. So back in July I started reading the New Testament. I finished Matthew, Mark, John until eventually I reached where I am now: Romans. I’m actually kind of excited to be in Romans now, if only because the guy I’m seeing’s favorite verse is in Romans and I just wanted to read it in context. Not to mention that Acts was just a pain in the butt to get through. 

I don’t know why, but Acts just seemed really slow to get through. I understand it’s importance and everything, after all, it IS in the biblical canon, but it just seemed really hard to get through. It took me a couple weeks to get through with reading a couple pages here and there. At this rate, it’s going to take me a whole year just to finish the New Testament. I don’t know why I’m feeling rushed to get through it. I’m hungry for the word, of course, but I also feel a bit guilty about not having read it on a regular basis until now. 

Reading the Bible isn’t a race. It’s meant to be read and thought about, sunk into every pore of my mind and body and while I’m definitely trying to do this, it’s hard not to say “Oh, I got finished with one book in a week! Let’s see if I can do it again!” I think God must have been rolling his eyes because now I’m taking things more slowly. 

But what can I say? I’m a girl who tends to eat her words after saying them. I’m only human, after all. 

Tell me your thoughts.

