Writing

Saying Goodbye

On Friday, October 4, 2013, a week ago today of this writing, my daddy died unexpectedly in the emergency room. He had two blood clots go to the lung in spite of the doctors having put a basket in that Monday and taking shots to prevent any extra ones from going up to the lungs or heart. They wanted to send him to the critical care center in another hospital and wanted to put a breathing tube in to stabilize him while they take him over there. Unfortunately his heart stopped after they put it in and had to revive him. Unfortunately, the length of time had caused some brain damage and he never talked again. He fought and fought all day until the family doctor came in and he let go.

My daddy was a wonderful dad. We always watched movies together and went to the amusement park where I lived. He loved to travel and I can remember going down to Tennessee a lot up in the mountains as well as to England overseas. I’m sorry that we never got to travel in the last few years, that he’ll never get to travel again. It would’ve been nice to have one last family vacation together, but it was never meant to be.

I will never get to see him again, but I’ll never forget him. He died too soon, but he’ll always be with me, no matter what. I’m glad that I got to have the memories that I have of him and keep them close always.

Tell me your thoughts.

