Lazy Days

Today has been a lazy day. I snuggled in bed this morning after I woke up and read for an hour or so. I got up and wrote in my reading blog and then went into the family room to discover my mom’s friend was over to visit with my mom. We sat in there for a couple hours, then walked around the block to an open house. The house was beautiful, of course, but it was a split level house: five levels if you count the basement and finished attic. I loved the attic, of course. It was cozy and warmer than the rest of the house. I would definitely love to have my room up there and have my own little snuggly couch up there just to read or write or whatever.

Other than that, I haven’t done much. Sundays seem to do that for you: lethargic, peaceful, a time to rest and catch up from the previous week. Friday was especially busy and hard, of course and even yesterday was kind of busy with work and supervising Iron Man 3. As I was watching it, I couldn’t help but think how much my dad would’ve liked to watch it. We always used to watch those types of movies: superheroes, The Hobbit, Lord of the Rings, and Harry Potter were all movies that we would watch together. The day before he died, we were watching t.v. and the preview for the second Hobbit movie came up. He turned to me and said “That is one we’re going to have to see, isn’t it?” and I said yes. We’ll never get to see it together and that makes me sad.

I feel like I’m talking about my dad a lot here in the last week, but that should (and is) normal. He was my daddy. We did things together. We may have aggravated each other a lot, but we stuck to each other like you wouldn’t believe. I wish we did more things together, went out and went on adventures, but we never did. If I ever have kids, I hope that I’ll make some time to take them out on a regular basis and just enjoy each other’s company.

My dad will never walk me down the aisle of my wedding if I ever get married, nor will he ever get to see any grandchildren. That makes me extremely sad. But I hope that he’s watching down on me right now and seeing everything I’m doing. One day we’ll meet up and see each other again, I’m sure. I just need to be patient until then.

Tell me your thoughts.

