Just When You’ve Thought You Seen It All…

When you work in a public library, you tend to run across some very interesting characters. Some of them are interesting in a good way and others, well, not so much.

Fortunately, today was one of those interesting days in a good way. While I was doing walking around the library straightening things up, a couple went up to the Reference desk and asked if they could reserve one of the study rooms and said that they wanted to use it because they were getting married. One of the reference staff motioned me over to tell me this story and when I glanced in through the windows, I could see the happy couple posing for pictures that the constable was taking for them.

In all the years that I’ve worked at the library, I’ve never heard or seen such a thing. Who wants to get married in a public library? I can understand if the library has some pleasing aesthetics to it like the Library of Congress, but if it’s just a drab old building, why go? I suppose if you don’t want to spend money on a wedding, going into the study room at the library would be the perfect place to be.

Just when you thought you’ve seen it all, you see something like this, a simple, happy wedding in the most unlikely of places. Whatever floats your boat.

Tell me your thoughts.

