To Write or Not to Write: NaNoWriMo

Every year on November 1, writers from all around the world begin a 50,000 word project to be completed by the end of the month. Some people complete it, some go above and beyond and others don’t reach the goal by the end of 30 days.

I, myself have tried this infamous writing dump two or three different years, but I never made it. The main excuse was the fact that I was in college and obviously didn’t have the time to commit to writing nearly 2,000 words every day.

This year, I technically have the time, but I’m not sure if I actually want to participate in it this year. It’s still a huge commitment and I’ve still got to go to work on a regular basis, plus many other things that I’d rather be doing. I’m sure the founders would say that I’m just making excuses, but there is something legitimate about not having to write a certain amount every day.

I think it’s a good idea, National Novel Writing Month. It gets you focused with your writing and creates a regular schedule of writing. But some of us can’t handle the pressure of writing such a large quantity of fluff.

And really, that’s what it all is: fluff. How can you write something coherent when you’re rushing to meet a quota every day? I’m sure established writers can do it, as well as writers who need structure. But since I’m the type of person who has to be in the mood to write anything that doesn’t include a blog entry, I don’t think I could force myself to create at such high altitudes.

Maybe I can I compromise: Write a blog post a day for 30 days in November. It doesn’t necessarily have to be 2,000 words a day, but at least I’ll be blogging/writing on a daily basis. How does that sound? I’ll think about it and if I decide to try and write a post every day. If I stop, then I’ll just have to admit defeat and not have to try NaNoWriMo ever again.

It’s all up in the air. More news in the future, my fellow readers.

Tell me your thoughts.

