Facebook is Terrible

Many of you might know of this already. I’ve known it for about a year (or more now). But the fact of the matter is, Facebook is absolutely terrible. While I love that Facebook allows me to connect to my friends and family and other people I used to know and keep up with what they’re doing in their lives, there is also that really bad con that makes me want to put away Facebook forever.

That fact is that the posts that some people post make me want to slap them across the face. And believe me, some of these people are ones that I wouldn’t have a problem with on a regular basis outside of Facebook. But because of Facebook, the posts that I see every day makes me want to shoot myself in the head. I won’t, but it’s that general feeling. There are rants from younger people about minute things that don’t matter (and in capslock, needless to say). Older people (mid 20’s to 30’s) complaining about younger people going through hormonal changes (which they can’t help, they’re only in their early 20’s). Political debates are rampant among many, many other things. Can’t we talk about “Oh, the sun is shining today!” or “I went out to dinner and it tasted better than expected!”

I probably shouldn’t complain, but sometimes it just gets to the frustrating point of not wanting to know what other people are thinking all the time. Which comes to my thoughts on taking a break from Facebook. I’ve taken a week or so off from it before just because it’s gotten to much to keep up with. I may or may not do it, but I might, even if it’s for a few days. It’ll definitely refresh me and make me not so irritated about certain posts.

We all need little breaks every now and then, don’t we?

Ash is participating in the November daily post for National Novel Writing Month.

Tell me your thoughts.

