Writing

On the Road Again Through Travel Blogs

I like reading travel blogs. There’s no exact reason for it. Perhaps getting a new perspective is what I secretly want, or the fact that I like reading about other countries and getting a first hand account from someone who’s actually living there abroad or traveling there is so much better than reading a travel book about it. So much more…alive. I’ve been abroad a few times, but only to one country (my mom’s from said country) as well as traveled around the U.S. a little bit, but I know I’ll never make it to all fifty states or to any of the countries that I wish to see. So reading a travel blog about the places I want to see is the second best bet.

It’s almost like reading a book about a faraway country, the writing is deep, thoughtful, and often witty. It makes me feel like I’m actually there rather than in my little old house in the middle of nowhere. If only we could travel to the other country instantly just by reading books and blogs, life would be so much more simpler.

Maybe one day I’ll travel again. But I’m not counting on it. Instead, I’m content to follow what other people are discovering on their own travels.

What do you like to read about in blogs?

Ash is participating in the November daily post for National Novel Writing Month.

Tell me your thoughts.

