Writing

Putting the Thanks in Thanksgiving

When we Americans think of Thanksgiving, we often think about parades (particularly the Macy’s Day Parade), the big family dinner, and football. Sure, we all talk about being thankful and thinking about the things that we appreciate in our lives. But have we truly forgotten about all that? We briefly give thanks to all those things we’re thankful for, but I’m not sure if it’s truly at the forefront of our minds. Sometimes I think the food is more important to a lot of families than what Thanksgiving has grown to be about for America.

Sure, the first real Thanksgiving wasn’t all about kindness and giving thanks. The Indians helped the Pilgrims out because they hoped give them leverage to keep their lands (among other things). The Pilgrims appreciated the Indians giving them food to survive that year, but only saw them as a stepping stone to their next conquest and goal.

Regardless of the real first Thanksgiving, this holiday was created and has grown into something where people take the time out of everybody’s day to reflect upon the good things in life, the things that matter rather than materialistic things in the now.

This year, I’m feeling the loss of my father. I didn’t realize how much he meant to me until he died last month. I’m thankful for having such a wonderful father. I’m thankful for having him for as long as I did. I wish I could’ve spent many more Thanksgivings with him, but unfortunately that wasn’t in store for us. I’m thankful for the friends that I’ve met and grown fond of over the years. I’m thankful for having a home and a job and a creative outlet. I’m thankful for being healthy, for getting a degree and so many other things.

I’ll look foreword to having the food, because really, who doesn’t love the food that we have? After all, Thanksgiving only comes once a year. But while I’m eating, I’ll think about all the good things in life, for the things that I love and feel grateful for. Because really, isn’t that what it’s all about?

Tell me your thoughts.

