Writing

Loving Alone

Tomorrow is Valentine’s Day and I get the day off. I also get to spend the one day that celebrates love alone. It’s not like this is unusual; in fact, I’ve never celebrated Valentine’s Day with a significant other in all of my life. When I was in high school, I hoped that someone would send me a Valentine’s Day card or some flowers that the student government was selling, but I never got one. Even in my early twenties when I started college, I hoped to meet at least one person who would take me out for Valentine’s Day, even if it was for dinner or to stay home and watch a movie. Needless to say, I was disappointed at the end of Valentine’s Day every year. No flowers. cards, no nothing.

I’ve been told over the years that Valentine’s Day is overrated, that it wasn’t something I was missing too terribly much. But when you’re a lonely soul who longs to be in love, Valentine’s Day is like a stab in the stomach. You don’t get to be with that special person on a romantic date. You don’t get to have someone spending time with you on the Day of Love, especially when you’ve never gotten to celebrate it before.

I don’t know what I’m saying. Maybe I’m saying that people who try to tell those who always wanted to celebrated it with someone special that it’s cliche and overrated has no idea what they’re saying to that person. It’s like telling someone who just lost their legs that at least they’re still alive and can get prosthetics. You know you can get something for yourself to replace it, but it’s not the same as the real thing.

But that’s just my takes.

Tell me your thoughts.

