Culture and Popularity

I generally don’t like a lot of things that people automatically expect everybody to like just because it’s a major part of our culture, which is to say is a lot of things. I like to follow my own road in the way of likes and dislikes. Just because everybody says it’s good mean it IS good. For example, everybody’s supposed to like the Beatles. They no doubt influenced the music culture for future generations of musicians and held sway in the imaginations and fascination of young people. My dad loved them. Some people my age love them now. But as for me, I don’t understand why they’re popular. There’s maybe one or two songs that I find brilliant by the group, but I couldn’t care less about them one way or another. I just don’t understand the obsession over certain bands, music, movies, actors, and the like. Just because they made one brilliant film or album mean they should be put up on a pedestal.

I think I’m just the type of person who, when I say I like someone or something, I mean that I like one or two works that they did. I like Jude Law in Cold Mountain, but I couldn’t say I like him in anything else that he’s played in (too much of a pretty boy in my opinion). I like Batman played by Christian Bale and The Amazing Spiderman, but that doesn’t make me a fan of superhero movies in general and certainly not Robert Downey Jr.

I’m probably in the minority in a lot of things, especially in things/people that are popular. Maybe I have an aversion to popularity. But that’s just me.

Tell me your thoughts.

