Writing

To My Reader

I hope that as you’re reading this, life is treating you well. Life can be tricky sometimes, you know. It’s not all peaches and cream, as someone once pointed out. You might be looking for a new job, but nobody wants to give you a chance. You’re single again in a world where everyone around you is getting married and having kids. You’re stuck in a slump to live a creative life (or creatively, as it were) and don’t know how to change it.

But let me tell you something: You are amazing just the way you are. Sometimes we’re in certain places in our lives because that’s where we need to be. Just because you don’t have a significant other mean you’re a bad person. You’re just learning how to have a great relationship with yourself and being a better person. Maybe there’s something in your in your current job still because there’s still something you may learn. The Great American Novel of your life is your life.

My dear reader, I’m telling you these things because I’ve been there myself. I’m impatient and I want things to be done right now. What I (and you as well, I’m sure) fail to notice is that we each are writing the greatest stories ever told and that is ourselves. When I sit down to write in my blog, I become uncertain about what I want to write. Who wants to read about me going hiking or walking around Barnes and Noble or reading about the antics at work? But you see, these stories are interesting, even if I don’t think so.

We are all interested in the human condition. We’re all interested in the everyday lives of others. Even if we personally think our lives are boring, others find it interesting. That is why I want to show you, my reader, the every day, mundane, ordinary travels of my life. I want to record them for myself, for others, a commentary of my ordinary life in the extraordinary world that we live in. I might not see the connection, but I want to share, connect, and remember my journey for myself and the reasons I share.

I hope that you will stay and share the journey with me.

Tell me your thoughts.

