First Days of Summer

I spent the first day of summer working all day. It wasn’t so bad because we were busy all day. It probably wouldn’t have been a big deal if we had the normal amount of people working, but because so many were on vacation and no subs were able to work in the afternoon, we were swamped. It took all we had to keep up and not be overwhelmed, thankfully one of the morning people stayed on until 3 o’clock and helped us get some things caught up. But it still kept us on the toes constantly until the very end.

When I got home, I was more than ready to flop on the couch and relax. I hadn’t slept well the night before (not til 12:30 in the morning, for goodness sake’s!” So by 10:30 rolled around, I was more than ready to fall into bed and I did. I fell straight to sleep and didn’t wake up again until 8:30 this morning.

I wish I could say that I enjoyed more of the summer solstice. I love summer and all the warmth it brings. I love the longer days and lighter evenings. If I hadn’t been so exhausted I might have sat out on the back porch and just enjoyed the evening as it faded into dusk. The summer solstice only comes once a year and I’d like to enjoy it to its fullest.

But even tho I worked all day yesterday, I know there’ll be plenty more long days in the coming weeks. I enjoy having longer, hotter days. Winter makes the world seem so much bleaker. Because of the longer days, I can do more things after work, like going hiking or sitting on the back porch reading. I don’t have to come immediately indoors just because it’s dark when I get off of work. Walks are more possible. Relaxation is much more serious when there’s more sunshine.

Solstice means promise. Solstice means hope in the sunshine’s rays. That’s why it’s called sunshine and rays.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/set-for-solstice/

Tell me your thoughts.

