Taking the Moment, Because I’m Going to Miss This

Sometimes your dreams come true, even when you think it’s impossible. This week, two of my dreams came true and it’s hard to believe that they actually occurred. Let me tell you about them. 

Everybody has a bucket list, even if they’re never officially organized in any way. I’m no different. On my bucket list I had two wishes (or dreams): 1. Go fishing and catch a fish, and 2. ride on a motorcycle. 

I didn’t think either one of these two would ever happen. Number one, I didn’t want to go fishing without a guy because I don’t like putting the bate on the hook and I didn’t want to hold the fish and take it off the hook. But last Sunday I went fishing with a boy and he was so sweet. He set the fishing pole up for me and when a fish bit the hook, he set it and let me reel it in. When we brought it in, it was a good size catfish. He said it was probably one or two pounds. It certainly didn’t feel like one or two pounds: it felt much, much bigger. But I was so proud of myself that I actually caught a fish (mostly) by myself. I’m glad I finally had the opportunity to catch a fish, even if I’ll never do it again. 

But was even better was the fact that I got to ride a motorcycle. My family’s told me the woes and dangers of motorcycles, but in spite of all that, I still dreamed the Dream. And my Dream persisted until became a reality Thursday night. After work, I went over to a co-workers house and her husband plopped me onto the back of his big Harley and off we went. We drove on every road possible. We went on backroads, we went on the highways. We went on curvy roads, straight roads, everything. I loved everything about it. I love how open everything was, that you could smell every smell, feel every feeling, the vibrations in your feet as the motor runs, the smells of nature, the panoramic, scenic views. The sunset in the distance, the large moon off to the side. There were no words to describe the feeling. Only a person whose rode a bike can understand how you’re feeling. I wish I had pictures of everything I was seeing and feeling, but sometimes you just gotta be in the moment and enjoy everything as they were happening.

As pulled into the gas station, Trace Adkins’ song was playing on the radio. The driver stopped at just the right moment, when the line “You’re gonna miss this, you’re gonna want this back. You’re gonna wish these days hadn’t gone by so fast” were playing. I wasn’t thinking about the song, or any song in particular, but as I heard those lines, I knew instantly that this was how I was feeling. I wanted to live in the moment, every moment, and I didn’t want it to end. I knew that I would miss it and want it back, so I consciously made myself relax and just enjoy every moment, committing everything to my memory. 

Sometimes we rush through our lives, barely glancing to see what’s going on around us, that we don’t stop and truly see what’s going on around us. Just slow down, smell the roses, feel the love of your friends and family, enjoy the movies and the hikes and drives of life because you’re gonna miss this. You’re gonna want this back. You’re gonna wish these days hadn’t gone by so fast. These are some good times, so take a good look around. It might just be the best thing of your life.

Tell me your thoughts.

