These Are My Five Favorite Things

Like a lot of people, I have a lot of favorite things. Sometimes it’s hard to narrow down my favorites and say that I like these things exclusively and no matter what else changes in life, these favorites aren’t going to change no matter what. 

With that being said, I’m going to make an attempt to write down five of my favorites here for you. Believe me, they’re not an exclusive list, but they come pretty darn close:

  1. Country music. This is one thing that hasn’t changed since I was a child. I’ve listened to it every day since I became aware of what music was. I’m a minority for liking it where I live, but I refuse to cave into peer pressure and listen to something else exclusively and nobody can make me.
  2. Comfortable clothes. I can’t say I’m a fashion star or anything. I buy clothes for the sheer fact that they’re comfortable. I don’t think anything in my closet is in fashion and if they were, they’re a couple years behind the times. I don’t want to spend my life being uncomfortable, so why should I force myself into clothes that I don’t find comfortable? 
  3. Books. I love to read and that’s never changed. I have no problems buying a ton load of books even if I never get to read them. My family might have a problem with it, but why deny me the pleasure of looking through books, smelling them, feeling them and whatever else you can do with them? I love being surrounded by them and that’s all that matters to me.
  4. Mashed potatoes. I have no good reason for loving mashed potatoes. They’re fattening and most likely can cause health problems if eaten in large quantities. But if I was allowed to eat mashed potatoes every day, I would eat them. There’s so many ways to eat them to: With gravy on top or sausage gravy or even noodles and biscuits poured over top. Maybe it’s due to the fact that I love foods that remind me of home, mashed potatoes are my comfort food and nothing’s going to change that.
  5. Chocolate. Almost for the same reason as number 4. I have a sweet tooth and if I can’t have a piece of chocolate eventually I’ll go crazy. Don’t set chocolate in front of me because I’ll probably eat the whole lot of it in five minutes (to my dismay later when I get sick). What can I say, I gotta love my chocolate.
Tell me your thoughts.

