Writing

Misunderstandings, in Short

I found a bit of parchment on the sie of the road. It wasn’t old: the paper was clean with little dirt on it. Curious, I picked it up and began to read. I nearly dropped it in shock. The letter was apologetic, full of love. “I hope you come back and forget what’s lost.” I smiled, cried, then laughed some more.

I turned and there he was. I started foreword, then stopped. A woman ran to him, their hands clasped amorously. He didn’t love me after all, I fumed.

I took him in stride, pulled him away, and slapped him across his face. “I loved you too you jer”

The couple looked at me askance. I stepped away, embarrassed. “Are you Rosie?” I asked, “Here’s your letter from Paul.”

I turned and ran as fast as I could towards home.

Tell me your thoughts.

