Roots: Bebra, Germany

Bebra is a town located in Northern Germany. Frankfurt is about about 93 miles southwest. The name of the town came from a German name meaning “Village on the Beaver River” and today Bebra still means “beaver.” It’s interesting to me that the oldest ancestor that I found came from a “beaver” town when some of my people several generations later lived on a Beaver Road.

Bebra’s first documentation, according to Wikipedia was in 786 as part of the estate for Hersfeld Abbey and the town became more popular when they put in a railroad in later years. Surprisingly it was an important railway junction for Germany. Today, the town isn’t as popular, especially after the fall of the Berlin wall when it’d once been a checkpoint between the East and the West. From the few pictures I’ve seen, it looks like a beautiful place to be, nevertheless.

There are twelve evangelical churches in the town, one Catholic church, one Evangelical Methodist church, and one Syriac Orthodoc church. I was excited to note the Methodist church since my dad’s side of the family is Methodist by default. Perhaps my ancestor went to this Methodist church in Germany and his children and grand children continued to practice even into America. Some traditions and practices never die, or so it would appear. I’d like to go back and visit just to say, this is where they walked. This is where my people came from.

2 thoughts on “Roots: Bebra, Germany

  1. Thank you for sharing. I hope someday you get to go to Germany. When my husband was in the army we spent 2 1/2 years in West Germany. Our son and I landed in Frankfurt, then flew by Lufthansa to Nuernberg where my husband picked us up and drove us to Lehrberg (Lehr means teacher) where we lived on the economy for several months. I loved it there and would go back in a flat minute if we had the opportunity. The people are friendly, laid back (at least in the smaller bergs), and the food is my favorite in the world.

    1. Thank you for stopping by! I’d love to visit Germany someday. I knew a German guy in one of my classes once and he was really nice. Glad you enjoyed it!

Tell me your thoughts.

