House Matters

The house is a four bedroom, two and a half bath house with a kitchen, dining room, and living; a basement and crawlspace included. Calling it big is an understatement. The rooms are bigger than the average bedroom, but I wouldn’t notice unless I was in someone’s house. When you get used to the space, you tend to sprawl out, gaining more things to fill it out. And then, when you go to a smaller house, it feels just a little cramped.

I’ve lived in this house since I was seven. We moved here from the house across the street. That one was tiny and when it rained, it smelled of the cats the previous owners kept. I don’t remember the house much; few memories are kept in a place where one resided at a young age. I went back a couple years ago and it was small. I remembered the family room and the kitchen. I even remembered my playroom, but little else.

This is America. We get used to bigger things, bigger houses, bigger jobs. Bigger everything. And once we go back to the past, back to something smaller, it feels a little tight, a little small. So why not go for something bigger, something grand? The future is held wide open and in the present we are continually growing and changing, even if we don’t notice it at first. It’s only when we go back that we realize our old houses were small. The shell doesn’t quite fit.

5 thoughts on “House Matters

      1. Maybe it takes an extra creative person to make a bad prompt look good. Glad I wasn’t the only one who thought the same thing. πŸ™‚

Tell me your thoughts.

