Furry Companions: The Story of My Dog Part Two

A few months after my stricken need of a furry companion, my mom told me she found a dog in the newspaper that we might go out and look at. The dog was a stray and the people had found her wandering around lonely without an owner. They wished they could keep her, but since they’d just gotten a dog, they couldn’t keep her. They wanted someone to take her so they wouldn’t feel bad for taking her to the pound.

When we got to the house, it was like love at first sight. She was black and white with long hair to the ground like a sheep dog. They said she was a cock-a-poo, but she looked like she had a different kind of spaniel in her with her long legs.

I wanted to take her home right away, but my parents told me no. “We’ll let you know by Tuesday if we want her.”

For the next couple of days, the only thing I could think about was Dominoe. I knew as soon as I looked at her that I wanted her. That Sunday I asked them if we were going to go back and get her. I can’t remember what was said, but eventually we went back over and got her.

I was so excited to bring her home. After we had her checked out by the vets, we brought her home and fixed up a dog cage with blankets. For the first few weeks she didn’t bark or make a noise, like a shadow. I was a little disappointed: I wanted her to be energetic and playful. This wasn’t permanent, however. Not long afterwards, she became the noisy, energetic dog that I always wanted.

2 thoughts on “Furry Companions: The Story of My Dog Part Two

Tell me your thoughts.

