Venice in Melancholy

Venice always seemed to be a place of darkness and melancholy. I’m sure if I visited the place and actually saw it for myself, I wouldn’t think it would, but that’s the way I see it. Maybe there’s many boats and water admist the buildings that have been around for centuries with the clouds unfurling across a gray sky. It would depress me to feel so closed in all the time. It happened to me in England and I was only there for three weeks. I couldn’t imagine being there every day for the rest of my life.

And yet Venice is the place that everybody talks about visiting at least once in their lives. It’s a tourist destination filled with the usual touristy traps that get old very, very quickly. Italy just doesn’t appeal to me. I appreciate their food, but I don’t think I could ever go and see where the origins are.

Perhaps that’s what happens to one of the most romantic cities in Europe. It’s known for being romantic, yet touched with a melancholy flair. So many unrequited loves and broken hearts must have sunk down into its pores. But that’s just my humble impressions.

13 thoughts on “Venice in Melancholy

  1. The one thing I find with cities like Venice is that they’re so famous for being so astounding that you build them up too much in your mind before you visit, and the only direction you can go in from there is downwards! Although saying that I’m from Oxford, and I live in London, both cities I love… where in England did you visit?

    1. I have family from Essex county, but I’ve been to London, Oxford, Yorkshire and a few other places. It always seems like you have an image of what a place is like and then it turns out its completely unexpected. It’s nice to meet another English person!

      1. That’s definitely the case, I travelled from the East Coast to the West Coast of America a few years ago and everywhere surprised me so much, and it was the places I hadn’t built up in my mind that were the most exciting in the end! Ah so you’ve seen quite a bit of the UK then!

      2. You’ve probably seen more of America than I have. I’ve been mostly south and east. America’s so big it’s hard to take a road trip unless you have a lot of time and money. I think I love London. It’s a huge city with a small town feel (in my opinion). But I’d love to visit different countries other than England just to expand my horizons.

      3. Yes London definitely has that element in certain areas, because it’s made up of loads of little districts, they all have their own feel to them. It’s funny isn’t it, often people not from your country have seen more of it as they go there with the purpose of just travelling! England is just so easy to travel around, it’s so much smaller than America… but then again you do have every type of climate imaginable in your one country, I’ve always been envious of that!

      4. This is true. Plus your transportation is better connected within and across Europe, quite unlike America unless you’re in the big cities. We always made jokes about how we have all the worlds weather patterns within our country. It’s like when you see people traveling in your own country, you always wonder why it’s so special, but think other countries are so interesting. Maybe because it’s not a culture you’re used to! 🙂

      5. That’s very true, I did my travelling across America on the Amtrak network but I missed out on lots of little destinations because they weren’t connected, and getting to Flagstaff and Las Vegas was impossible, I had to get on a bus, and it wasn’t the best experience! I always thought that when seeing tourists in Oxford, having lived there my whole life, sometimes I think we could all spend a day as a tourist in our own homes though, it might open our eyes to what we’re missing!

      6. Flagstaff and Vegas are like their own little pockets in the middle of nowhere, like much of America, it seems. I live in Ohio about an hour from Cincinnati and an hour and a half from Columbus. I went to a museum in Cincy for the first time in my life and wish I was more aware of its diversity. It’s been there all my life but I don’t pay attention since its there.

      7. That’s what we tend to do, we don’t visit things that are there all the time as I guess we just think there’s no rush! Ah it seems I flew right by your area, I went from Niagara Falls to Chicago, there’s just too much to see in the US!

      8. Oh, nice! I stayed on the Canadian side of Niagara Falls, it’s a nice place to visit. I heard it only takes about 7 or 8 hours to get to Chicago from where I live, but the traffics quite atrocious! My parents used to live by Stratford where Shakespeare was born and raised but they never went there until I went back with my mom last visit. Funny how close you can be, yet so far away. Some people live by the ocean and yet go as rarely as people who live inland.

      9. Ah yes, Stratford upon Avon, it’s lovely! I think we just take for grants what’s in front of us, it’s a shame really! Chicago was one of my favourite cities, it seemed to have a lot of soul, I was quite surprised by it… because I had no preconceived idea of its image, just as we were saying! It’s funny, 7-8 hours to us in England seems so far away, it’s such a difference for you being somewhere so vast!

      10. I really liked Stratford Upon Avon. Surprisingly, I liked Anne Hathaway’s childhood home the best, the garden and the house was what I imagined a traditional English country house from old times. My aunt and uncle used to live in the suburbs of Chicago, unfortunately they moved before I was born. I don’t have any big notions of Chicago either. I imagine 7-8 hours is long to a place that can get somewhere in 3 or 4. Funny how perceptions of distance are different for different country. Americans want everything on a big scale, so anything that can be traveled to in 8 or 10 hours is quite short.

Tell me your thoughts.

