Writing

Welcome to the New Year 2015.

The New Year has begun and I’m sure many people have set goals for 2015. I haven’t really made any goals for the New Year, except to read more books (among other reading challenges) and writing more in my journal (and blog). I’m not big on making resolutions, but that’s my general feeling for New Year’s any year. I’m just not big on New Year’s, for me it’s just like any other day. For me, I should be making resolutions every day and not just on New Year’s. We should always be improving ourselves throughout the year rather than just waiting until the new year to start. But I can understand the sentiment of the New Year. It’s a new year, so let’s make a new start! At least it’s getting people to start thinking about themselves and what they should do in order to improve. They might not finish the goal or even start, but at least they’re thinking about it and eventually those cogs will push them foreword into whatever it is they’re pushing for.

As I’m sitting here writing this, I’ve began to think of some goals that I’ll like to set for myself or at least improve upon over the year. Even I can think of some areas where I can work on for the next year:

  1. Drink more water and juice, less pop. I’ve noticed in the last year that whenever I drink pop in the afternoon/late afternoon I don’t get a good night’s sleep at night. So, more healthy drinks that don’t keep me awake all night when I need to sleep.
  2. Walk more. I did a lot of walking and hiking last year, but it wasn’t on a regular basis. Starting in the spring, I’d like to walk every day and maybe even hike once or twice a week.
  3. Journal and blog more. I want to write in my personal journal every day and try and blog more than I did in the last couple of months or so. Maybe this will give way to actual fiction writing (or memoir or nonfiction, whatever inspires me).
  4. Read more than I did last year. I read a lot in 2014, but it’s still lower than what I used to read back in the day. I plan to slowly build my reading levels up again. If you want to see more of my reading goals, see my blog at The Literary Attic.
  5. Start thinking about what I’d like to study if I want to go back to school. I have two degrees but I feel they’re not enough to further myself in my career. I would like my education to back me up and give me more experiences. I don’t quite know where to go next, but I can at least think about it and get myself in the right direction.
  6. No boyfriends or dates. I made this goal before 2015. The last year or so I’ve been dating someone on and off. I sort of wanted to date him after a while, but in the beginning I certainly didn’t want to date anyone and was convinced by the guy to date so I kept working at it. In the end it only drained me and made me hate myself for giving more than he was giving me. So for the next year, I’m going back to my old sentiments of not dating anyone. I hate dating, especially when I don’t want to go out on a date. I’m happier alone and no one’s going to make me change my mind. No matter what.
  7. Be healthy. There’s been too much sickness and death in my family in the last 7 years. I don’t want anymore illness to plague us.
  8. Be happy. Find what makes me happy and pursue it with abandon. That’s all.

What are some of your goals for 2015? I hope it’s filled with good health, good friends, and good happiness.

Tell me your thoughts.

