Writing

Confession: No Makeup

Confession:

I don’t wear makeup.

Okay, maybe this isn’t much of a confession to those who know me, but it’s not exactly something I announce to the world, either. There’s been very few times in my life that I’ve worn the stuff and I haven’t enjoyed it much. I never got the idea of standing in front of the mirror applying make and sticking an eyeliner in my eye just to look good. I know that women (and even some men) like to use it to look and feel good, but that just isn’t me.

My morning routines are simple. I get up, put my clothes on, wash my face, eat breakfast, brush my teeth, and do everything that you do to look clean in the morning and then I’m on my way. As long as I look presentable, then that’s okay with me. I don’t want to have to get up any earlier just to look like a magazine model.

And therein lies the problem: So many people wear makeup because they want to look like celebrities and famous people. It makes me feel sad that people can only feel worth by applying something to their faces. People look wonderful just the way they are. They don’t need to wear a lot of makeup or go into surgery just to make themselves look the way they think society wants them to look. People should wear makeup because they want to.

These things have probably been stated over and over again by many different people over the years, but I think it’s still relevant today. We need to remind our young people and people in general that whatever they do in life should be because it makes them happy and not because someone else told them it makes them happy. But that’s just me.

What makes you happy?

Tell me your thoughts.

