It’d Suck to Be Allergic to Food.

I’m thankful that I don’t have any food allergies.

You know how they say you don’t know how much you use a muscle or body part until you strain it or exercise it in a way you’ve never done before? This is how I imagine what having a food allergy must be like. I wouldn’t want to think about what might be in my food and ask for specific things to be removed from my meal before I can eat it. I don’t want to have to check everything that I eat before I buy it or even step into a grocery store because my allergy is so acute.

I don’t want to have to give up eat something I enjoy eating because it might put me in the hospital.

Once I was in a writing class and one of my classmates brought in almond Hershey kisses for us as part of their presentation. One of my other classmates told them she couldn’t eat the Hershey kiss because her son was so allergic to nuts that he’d be able to smell it on her lips and activate his allergy. That would be tough for me to handle.

It didn’t seem like there were so many food allergies when I was a kid. Then again, they didn’t actually promote it to everybody if they did. But no one in my classes ever said not to bring in certain foods or refused anything because of a food allergy. Is it because of what we put into our foods or is it just a recently developed thing that occurred within our makeups? Or was it there all along and we never realized it until recently?

Whatever it is, I’m glad I’m not one of those people.

11 thoughts on “It’d Suck to Be Allergic to Food.

  1. I feel the same way! My friend used to be allergic to peanuts where if he ate it he could be close to dying. He was telling me he started taking opc3, some supplement his nutrionist recommended to help with his allergies. Lo and behold he can eat peanuts now !!

      1. It’s a vaccination for the whooping cough. I had it twice, the second one a different mixture they came up for those who had a reaction to the old stuff, but it still gave me a high fever. Just something I have to let the doctors/health people know if they’re looking into my file.

      2. It’s a respiratory tract infection. From what I read on Mayo clinic, it’s a severe cough followed by a sharp intake of breath. I think mostly children or people who don’t have the vaccine can get it. But most people have gotten it if they’ve gone through childhood vaccines and gotten it updated. 🙂 So I think I’d be okay as long as others are vaccinated.

Tell me your thoughts.

