Falling Away

Many people are in love with fall. It’s almost like a cult the way they obsess over the changing colors of the leaves, the hoodies, the fall festivities. Pumpkin. That sort of thing.

I’m not one of those people, however. I hate fall.

I don’t like it because it’s cold and the changing atmospheric pressure is too much for my poor head. Where people see pretty leaves, I see work to clean up the yard. It’s just not my thing.

And anyway, everyone knows what comes after fall: white misery. Ice. Dangerous driving conditions. The perpetual feeling of cold and never feeling warm again. Winter is indeed coming.

I know I need to get through fall and winter in order to see spring and summer again, but I just can’t fall in love with it. It baffles me as to how some people revel in it. I’m sure they’re just as baffled by my love of spring and summer.

The only thing that fall has going for it is turning the clocks back an hour. Extra hour of sleep: Great. Getting dark early: extremely hateful. Why can’t we all just have an extra hour and still have extra daylight? The world doesn’t work that way, but one can only dream.

Tell me your thoughts.

