Writing

Being Thankful.

I can’t believe that Thanksgiving is this week. It doesn’t even feel like it should be Thanksgiving, to be honest. Ever since my dad died, the need to celebrate Thanksgiving has decreased drastically with me. I don’t stay in contact with my dad’s family and my mom’s family is English and obviously they don’t celebrate it. So, in essence, it’s just my mom and I for the holiday and we don’t make a big fuss about it anymore. In fact, last year we went to a buffet on Thanksgiving because it didn’t seem worth it to cook a big Thanksgiving meal just for the two of us. We don’t eat a lot anyway.

This year, my mom’s friend invited us to her Thanksgiving meal. She put a reservation on the Eagles lodge in town and invited her family and us. This is the second time we spent Thanksgiving with them and I think it’s nice to have other people to spend time with. Otherwise we probably would have just gone out to eat somewhere.

I also wanted to comment on the 30 days of thanks meme that people have been participating in the last couple of years. I don’t think as many people have done it this year, but I haven’t paid too much attention to it. I’m not the one who likes to participate in memes because they seem like too much effort most of the time and it only further aggravates the people I’m friends with on social media. However, I thought I’d post a few things that I’m thankful here on my blog just because I think it might be fun as well as generate another post.

Things I’m Thankful for (2015):

  1. A job.
  2. A house to live in.
  3. No major bills to pay.
  4. Good health.
  5. A car to drive in.
  6. My mom.
  7. Living in a country with lots of opportunities.
  8. Living in a safe country.
  9. A comfortable bed to sleep in.
  10. A few good friends.
  11. Able to get a higher education (and a good one at that).
  12. Creativity (even if I don’t use it much).
  13. Spring and summer (every winter must have an end)
  14. Having Mondays off.
  15. Being myself.
2 thoughts on “Being Thankful.”

Tell me your thoughts.

