Writing

This and That

I didn’t do as much writing as I thought I would do this month. I don’t really care thought. Quality over quantity, as they say, though I’m not confident I do much of either.

Lately, I’ve been trying to be a little more healthy by the way of exercising more. I don’t stick to a routine, nor do I sustain the exercise for any length of time like I’m suppose to, but as a professor once told us, baby steps is all it takes for us to go on towards success. Since it’s too cold to go for walks now, I’ve been trying out different indoor exercises when I’ve thought about them: squats, jumping jacks, lunges, and much more recently, jumping rope. I found my old “professional” jump rope that I’d gotten in elementary school and have been jumping 50 turns or so in the basement. I’ve realized that I like it because it’s cardio and there’s a few different techniques that I can do with jump ropes. I’ve even run up and down the stares three or four times just to get my heart pumping. Anything to get myself moving is good enough for me. Maybe one day I’ll actually develop a routine and stick to it a couple times a week. Again baby steps.

Today I finished reading Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince. This is only the second time I’ve read it (the last time being when the book first came out). It’s still not my favorite of favorites but I enjoyed re-visiting the book nonetheless. I wanted to work through the Harry Potter books this year because I’ve only read through all the books one time and I wanted to read the series through just one more time. Because, after all, who doesn’t love Harry Potter? (Well, I suppose there’s a few people who don’t like Harry Potter, as I’ve come to discover the past couple years, but oh well, I’ll ignore that). I’m a couple books behind in my reading book year, but that’s okay. Even though I made a goal to read a certain amount of books this year, I haven’t pushed myself like I usually do. I did make my goal to be between 60 and 65, so I’m closer to completing the 60 goal. But if I want to reach 65, I’m going to have to step it up before the end of December.

What else has been happening? Saturday we decorated the house for Christmas. We usually put up one tree and a few little Christmas-y knick knacks but last year after Christmas we’d bought two LED trees and some traditional fake trees that were on sale. So, this year, we’ve put up nine Christmas trees. We’ve never gone all out on Christmas before. The LED trees are pretty cool, but they’re so blindingly bright. You can also press this button the tree and the lights will move around the tree in different ways, but I think I like it just at a standstill so you’re not getting dizzy.

Thanksgiving we went to the Eagles to celebrate with my mom’s friend. It was okay, the food was nice, but nothing spectacular. So many little kids and babies. I’m glad I don’t have any of those to take care of.

Tell me your thoughts.

