David Bowie, Where Do We Go From Here?

david bowie rolling stone
Photo Credit: Rolling Stone

It’s hard to imagine that an artist as great as David Bowie has died and will no longer contribute new material to the art he loved. Even though I only discovered him about five years ago, I found his work to be brilliant and edgy singer. Who other than Bowie himself have the ability to entertain, shock and push us far to the edge of the artistic universe? He did it because he could, he did it because no one else would. Even if I can connect to only a few of his songs, I appreciate how he changed the face of music through his voice and image.

I’ve been struggling to find the words to describe how I feel about his death all day today. Even though I felt extremely sad when Robin Williams died, Bowie’s death seems even more close to home. He died after a struggle with cancer. I, too, have family member who went through two different cancer treatments (thankfully she’s still alive, but I know how debilitating a cancer diagnosis is). I also had a parent pass away not too long ago at the age of 64 and I feel so much for his wife and children. It doesn’t matter how old the kids are or how famous the loved one is, losing a parent is a horrible thing.

young bowie
Photo Credit: Rolling Stone

What I like the most about Bowie is that he seemed so down to earth. From the interviews I’ve seen of him, especially in his later years, he had a good sense of humor and truly wanted to connect to those who talked to him and spent time with him. My respect for celebrities who act like real people and treat their fans respectfully goes sky high. I also loved that he followed his passion and lived life on the edge without regard to how others thought of him. I want to be able to do that with my own art and passions.

Bowie
“I don’t know where I’m going from here, but I promise it won’t be boring.”

My only regret is that I didn’t discover him sooner. I wish I could have seen him in a concert. I wish I could have met him and talked to him about art and music. I know millions of people are mourning for him and the artist that he was, but my heart and thoughts go to his wife Iman, his young daughter and older son and any other family member who lost a great man in their lives.

I couldn’t fall asleep last night. It was a struggle to get myself to get any kind of sleep. Even though I didn’t know he was passing away from this world at the time, maybe I somehow knew that another star was passing into the sky. And from what I know, others had a hard time sleeping as well, either because they heard the news overnight or not. Who can ever know.

I’ll end this post with my personal favorite song by David Bowie, Modern Love because it so adequately expresses my feelings about love (strangely enough):

Tell me your thoughts.

