15 Ideas for Singles on Valentine’s Day.

A couple years ago, I made a post about 11 activities you can do on Valentine’s Day if you’re single. I didn’t make one last year apparently, though I thought I made the post in question last year (no matter), so I thought I’d make another one. Everybody makes posts about why relationships are the greatest thing, making those of us still single feel bad about our status in life when in reality it can and is just as great as being in a relationship. So if you’re feeling a little blue about spending another Valentine’s Day alone, please don’t be! There are plenty of self love activities that you can do to make it one of the best experiences ever.

  1. Coloring. As I mentioned in a previous post, I’ve (re)discovered how fun coloring is. It’s relaxing and when you’re done, you have something beautiful to show for it. You don’t even have to buy one of those 20 dollar coloring books at Barnes and Noble, you can just go to the local grocery store and buy a small coloring book and some coloring pencils and color away.
  2. Watch your favorite movie/watch a movie with your favorite actor. If you have a celebrity crush or have a movie that you love to watch over and over again, why not watch it on Valentine’s Day? After all, you’re treating yourself, why not watch something you love?
  3. Create a musical playlist for your iPod. I’m not going to say a “love songs” playlist because that would be pretty cliche and probably make you lonely, but if you want to do that, go ahead. Or make any kind of themed playlist you want. I enjoy making happy/energizing/or relaxing playlists myself.
  4. Treat yourself to a spa day. I’ve personally never done this, but I’ve heard that it was really fun. I did have a massage once and it was amazing how they were able to get all knots out of my shoulders. I do a lot of lifting, shifting and setting down so my shoulders always end up being in intense pain and having a massage done of them was amazing. So if you have the time (and the money) for it, maybe you can go for the whole spiel.
  5. Go out to eat/order pizza. Sometimes you just got to take the initiative and go out to eat yourself. It’ll probably be busy but you can enjoy your food without worrying about what the other person thinks.
  6. Cook your own meal. If you don’t want to fight the crowds, why not make your own meal? Then you can share it while you’re watching that favorite actor of yours?
  7. Make cards for your friends and family. There’s all sorts of love out there, why do we have to focus on romantic love? Create some Valentine cards for your friends and family to show how much you appreciate them.
  8. Have a night out with your best friends. Group celebrations can be fun sometimes. Go to the movies, go shopping, have a party, just spend some good times with some good friends.
  9. Go to a museum. I don’t go to museums much myself, but when I do, I thoroughly enjoy myself. Why not go to that art museum and see how much love these artists put into their work.
  10. Go for a long walk. I enjoy walking and going for hikes, so this is probably something I’d do if I wasn’t working. Somehow when I’m walking, the stress just melts away and I forget all my worries.
  11. Exercise. This is a very broad term to include everything that different people consider as exercise. So if you box, yoga, run, wrestle, lift weights, go do that. I’m sure it’ll get out all your pent up tension. Just don’t hurt anyone in the meantime.
  12. Watch YouTube channels. I’ve been getting into YouTube lately, so this is fun. You can get lost in it for hours. So pick a few of your favorite channels and go on a marathon. Or just see where it takes you.
  13. Go to the movies. I heard Deadpool’s coming out (why they’re considering a rated R comic book hero to be a Valentine’s Day movie, I have no idea), why not go see what that’s about? Or whatever else is out if violence isn’t your thing.
  14. Get lost in a book. This is probably what I’ll be doing because I love to read. Find a comfort book or a book in your favorite genre or your favorite book and read that baby front to back.
  15. Find a new hobby. After all, why not cultivate something you always wanted to do but never done?

This is just a small list of things to get you started. Hopefully this will spur you on make this Valentine’s the best you’ve ever had. What are some of your plans this Valentine’s? Let me know in the comments below!

Tell me your thoughts.

