Writing

What I Like About YouTube, Part One: The Gamers

When I was growing up, I wasn’t allowed to have a video game console. The reasoning was that I shouldn’t be spending hours in front of the television set. Looking back at it now, I can understand why staring at the television can be bad for you, but at the time I really wanted to have what everybody else seemed to have. Having a Game Boy was fun, but having a Nintendo or Playstation seemed so much more fun.

As the years went by, I began to forget about ever owning a video game. There were so many other things to do that having one seemed only to take up space than to be of any use. When I got a Wii system in my early twenties, I thought it was fun and for hours I would play tennis or bowl till my heart’s content. But I was so used to not having a console system that even this became more sporadic.

A few months ago, a friend of mine and another person were talking about a video game for the Playstation 4 called Until Dawn. The premises was intriguing to me and made me want to play it. Unfortunately the Playstation itself costs close to 400 dollars or more and then about 30-50 dollars for every game purchase. I was disappointed that I couldn’t play the game myself but was excited to be told by my friend that I could watch people play it on YouTube.

You’re probably wondering why I didn’t think of this before. It’s quite a simple answer, really. Up until three or four years ago, I had dial up Internet and trying to get on any websites such as YouTube was near impossible so I just never got onto them. When I finally got faster Internet about three/four years ago, I never thought to get on YouTube to see what it was all about. So when I was told to get on YouTube, I thought “Duh! Why didn’t I think of this before?”

With a few gamer channels in hand, I went online to watch a play through of Until Dawn. The first one I watched was one by Tetra Ninja and at once I was hooked. This, I thought, was genius. If you didn’t have enough money to purchase video and computer games, watching someone else play them was the next best thing. You can see what the game is like and feel like you’re part of the playing process. Even if you are really into gaming, you can watch YouTubers play the games you want to buy before actually going out and buying it yourself. Plus the commentary and thoughts of the gamers expands your experience and brings you new perspectives you haven’t thought of before.

This is can be for other things as well: Books, make up, movies. You name it, there’s probably a YouTuber for it. I wish I’d discovered YouTube earlier and all the possibilities you can search in the search bar. If you’re at a loss to what to watch next, try watching a few gamers and what you think of it.

I hope to make this entry to be the first of several in a series about what I like and don’t like on YouTube. Watch out for the next one!

Tell me your thoughts.

