Lost in the Moment

He was supposed to go back to get the backpack, but he couldn’t move. Neither could I.

He looked at me. I looked at him.

Lost in his gaze, I felt frozen in time. The trees, the greenery, the slow moving river. Each was vibrant yet faded in the background, cocooning us in the moment of ourselves, forgetting where we were. He was beautiful, I thought. I don’t want him to leave.

“Um.” I pause. “I’ll just stay here.”

I turn, I reach my hand out to place my water on the weathered table.

Quicker than lightening, he was before me. His warm fingers curled around my wrist. Surprised, I take a step back. Gently, he tightens his grip and pulls me to him. His lips touch my forehead. I lean in, unable to breath. Can’t you hear my heart beating? I thought, it’s so fast.

He pulls away. I hover in the space between, not quiet touching, but forever attracted to each other’s space.

His face drops down, lips touching mine. Gentle, loving, complete. This is what a kiss is supposed to be like. No self consciousness. No awareness of anyone but him.

Can’t you hear my heart beating.

We pulled away. Gently. Reluctantly. No words said or needed.

He spun away and headed back up the trail. I stared after him immobile, his name lingering on my lips, unable to spill out. Come back, come back. He looked back, almost as unwilling to leave me as I was of him. He’d come back, but I’d never be able to recreate that feeling.

It was perfect. I never will forget.


 

Inspired by Memory.

2 thoughts on “Lost in the Moment

Tell me your thoughts.

