Let’s Talk About Passion.

It’s important to write about what you’re passionate about.

This may sound cheesy, but if you don’t write about something that you’re not even remotely interested in, it’ll show in you’re writing. If you’re writing about something because you think it’ll bring you a lot of traffic to your website, then you’re not doing it right. You’re only writing it for views and not necessarily writing to make yourself happy and contributing to Internet world/society.

When I decided to be serious about my blog writing, I tried to be sophisticated. I read a lot of posts that were Freshly Pressed (nowadays it’s “Discovered”) and then I tried to copy how they wrote because I wanted to be freshly pressed. As time went on, I got extremely discouraged. Why isn’t there more people following my blog? Why aren’t I getting my posts freshly pressed?

And then it dawned on me:

I wasn’t sounding like myself. I was sounding like someone who was trying too hard. I was too busy trying to sound like someone else and too little time just writing about what I like and don’t like.

I’m not saying that we can’t emulate those we admire because that’s what we all do when we write. We can’t help it. If you like to read Stephen King and other authors like Stephen King, then you’re probably going to sound a little bit like Stephen King. And you’ll probably sound like Stephen King until you become more confident in your writing and with that genre and branch out. You might still have a few elements but that’s usually how it goes from what I’ve learned.

So, I’m trying to be myself more. I’m trying let my own voice shine through and let my thoughts become my own and not because I read it on another blog and it was successful on that blog.

It’s really hard to do, mainly because I want my blog to be successful to some extent and I want people to enjoy what I’ve written. But as I’m going along, I’m trying to write more for myself and not for anybody else. I stated a blog because I enjoy writing and wanted a place to write. I’ve forgotten that in the attempts to try and look more professional, garner an image.

I need to get back to being myself. I need to get back to enjoying my writing. I need to get back to seeing why I loved the writing in the first place. I need to get back to my passion. Everything else will fall into place in its own time.

Tell me your thoughts.

