Writing

Small Town Festivals, Big Time Book Haul

Every year in May, the local Catholic church in my hometown hosts a small little festival. There’s carnival type rides and games, a food tent, a flea market and a adult game tent (mostly games like black jack). I like going mainly for the flea market. They have a small room in the back filled with books just ripe for the picking. A lot of years they have great selections, some years not so much.

This was one of the great years. I managed to get about thirteen books for around three dollars, which is a steal in my opinion. You can’t even get one book for that price in a retail bookstore.

Some books that I got included Big Magic and the Signature of all Things by Elizabeth Gilbert, a Charles Dickens book, Edward Rutherford, genealogy books, Have a Little Faith, and some Amish books among others. The Amish books I found for my mom since she likes to read those on occasion. My mom found some other things like a box, some rolling pins, and some quilts. I think we had a good hall this year.

Afterwards, we ran over to the food tent. I had a walking taco (chicken instead of beef) and a brownie while my mom had a soft pretzel. It was delicious. Afterwards we went home.

My only complaint was that it started raining right when we got there. It’d been dry and sunny all day, if a bit on the cool side, but it was nice. Only the weather in Ohio could change on me right when I wanted to go out and do something. With all exceptions, I couldn’t have asked for a better evening.

How did you spend your Friday night?

Tell me your thoughts.

