Writing

Being passionate in writing.

One of the most important things about writing is to write about something you’re passionate about.

I’ve read a lot of articles online and even been told by a couple that I should write about certain topics because they’re trending and popular. I think this is a good idea to a certain extent because you can see what people are interested in reading about, but if you’re only writing about those topics solely because you want to bring more people to your blog or because you’ll get a higher chance of being published in a magazine, then I don’t think you’ll come across as genuine.

There have been times when I’ve found it necessary to talk about certain topics. When I first stated my blog, I didn’t quite know what to write about so I rambled through a lot of different topics. For example, I spent time on several different posts on movies and t.v. shows that I recently watched (Hannibal immediately comes to mind). Even though I enjoyed watching the movies and shows, I’m not a regular theatrical fan of film. Even though I had to take a basic film class for my grad school program, I didn’t have a detailed knowledge on what to look for in order to give a good, critical review of what I was watching other than “I enjoyed the series” or “I didn’t like what I was watching.” Anybody can do that.

Granted, if I really wanted to, I could do more research on film reviews and with practice, I’d probably become a fairly decent critic. However, it’s not something I want to do on a regular basis, and the few times that I’ve attempted to write about film has shown my vague interest in developing myself in that topic. There was another time I talked about the topic of advertising. I like the idea of writing about it but I felt forced in writing it because it’s a topic that was trending at the time. If I’d written it when I wanted to rather than because I felt I had too, then maybe it wouldn’t have felt so disconnected.

This of course, is all my own opinion. I don’t know if my readers felt like it was forced or not, but when I feel like a topic is homework for me, then I don’t want to write about it.

Writing should and is an enjoyable task. People who are reading it are reading it because they enjoy reading and/or they enjoy reading about the topic they’re reading about. If the writer isn’t enjoying it, why are we expecting the reader to as well?

5 thoughts on “Being passionate in writing.”

  1. I completely agree with you – it definitely is hard work if you’re forcing yourself to write about something you’re not that into. I keep a Kanban board of various topics I want to write about and always choose the one I feel most passionate about. It seems to work for me so far!

    http://tinaparkblog.com

      1. I totally recommend using Trello on your phone or even a basic note taking app so you can capture it as you think of it 🙂

Tell me your thoughts.

