Writing

Defining YouTubers.

There are some YouTubers that I don’t understand.

For example, Casey Neistat. I saw one of his videos trend on the main page and decided to watch it. Since then I watched a couple other videos. I still don’t understand what he’s supposed to be vlogging about. It seems like he is a personal, lifestyle, every day vlogger who chronicles his life in New York City. That’s about as close as I can get to figure out what the heck he’s supposed to be about. I don’t watch him on a regular basis so I can’t exactly say that I’m a follower or an expert on what he is. He seems to be a pretty chill guy, but what is up with his glasses? He wears them all. the. time. Even when he’s inside. Is that supposed to be his signature or something?

If I was an artist, and by artist I mean a drawer or painter, I would find his face to be one of those interesting faces to draw. I wouldn’t call him attractive necessarily, but his face is, well, interesting. He has angular planes and prominent features (his nose comes promptly to mind). I wouldn’t mind drawing him if I was a drawing type of person.

Usually when I watch vlogs, it’s due to the fact that the vlogger in question has a theme to their channel. Like Markiplier and Jacksepticeye, they’re gamers. I know what to expect from them because most of the time they’re going to be doing gaming related videos. Or CreepsMcPasta, who tells creepypastas and folklore. Casey Neistat just vlogs about whatever he feels like vlogging about.

And you know what? That’s okay. When I wrote on my blog, I write about whateve I feel like writing about. As long as I’m writing and honing my skill and my readers are enjoying the topics that I’m writing about, then I’m happy. I’m sure there are readers who come to my blog and wonder, what is the theme of her blog?!

Well, I guess you could say I’m a lifestyle blogger, but not in the fashion blog sense. I know a lot of people automatically think fashion blog when they think lifestyle blog, so I always feel like I have to explain myself. And “writing about whatever I feel like blog” seems to wordy to me.

How do you view yourself as a blogger/vlogger? How do you define others in their blogs and vlogs?

Tell me your thoughts.

