Taking a Bike Ride.

About a year or so ago, my mom bought two new bikes. I can’t remember if it was from a garage sale or the Goodwill, but she got them. They’re very nice bikes and ride well. My old one was getting a little bit rusty and worn out looking so she’d gotten rid of it. This year, I decided to test my new bike out and I’ve been riding it almost every day ever since it got warm out. Now I itch to get out and stretch my legs. It’s good exercise and makes me feel good by the time I get back home. I don’t ride very far, just a couple blocks or so, but it’s far enough to make me feel like I’ve gotten some exercise.

Yesterday, I went on a longer ride and I was definitely worn out by the time I got home, so today I just went on my typical short ride. I think the key to endurance and exercise is varying the lengths each day. It’s all good to make the distance but if you keep pushing yourself to go longer and longer each day, then you’re just going to wear yourself out. I’m not an expert at this sort of thing, so I’m probably completely wrong when I say you should do this, but it works for me. Go on a long ride one day, then a shorter ride the next day to rest and then go on another long ride the next day. It changes things up and doesn’t make it boring.

Riding the bike sure beats walking on some days. Don’t get me wrong, I love walking and I’ve walked a lot in the last few days, but sometimes it’s too hot and too slow just to walk somewhere. I’ll probably go for a walk later, when it’s cooler, just to slow things down and enjoy my surroundings. But right now I’m going to enjoy the feeling of air blowing past me as I’m riding my bike.

2 thoughts on “Taking a Bike Ride.

Tell me your thoughts.

