I’m Terrible At Creating Blog Titles.

One of the most important parts about a story or a blog post is the title. The title, after all, is one of the first things that a person notices about the story. If the title doesn’t catch your eye, doesn’t pull you in and make you want to read what the author has written, chances are you’re not going to read it. It doesn’t matter how great your content is, that titles is going to make or break you.

And even though the title is one of the most important parts, I’m terrible at coming up with an original title. When I’m done writing, I sit there and stare at the blank space where the title is supposed to go and think “What on earth should I put there?” I mean, how do people come up with a witty title that sums up what is being said but doesn’t tell the whole story so that the reader feels like he (or she) needs to go in and see what it’s all about?

Even in my blog reader list, what I click on greatly depends on how interesting the title is. Even if I read something of that blogger before and really like what they’ve written, I won’t click on certain posts if the title doesn’t grab me. Of course I read the little excerpt underneath the title sometimes to catch what’s going on, and others I just click onto regardless of the title because I like the blogger no matter what, but generally, there are people I don’t click on all the time just because of the title.

I want to become more original in my titles. I want them to be more catchy. I want them to make people want to read what I’ve read just because they thought the title was interesting. I don’t know how some people come up with cool titles. I want to know their secret, because I’ve tried everything. One word titles, sentences, three word intrigues. I’ve done it all. And maybe they’ve worked, but I don’t know. They probably post a lot on their social media. Get people they know to read and share. And then they read and share and that’s how they get popular. Maybe.

So, anyway, I’m going through my reader list and I want to share some interesting blog titles from the past couple days or so that grabbed my attention:

  1. A Letter to Bridget (Meghan’s Dog)
  2. Why most studied populations should decline.
  3. Four Corners: Up and Down Tent Rocks
  4. Unlovable, but SHE taught me love
  5. A House in the Country

Of course, what grabs my attention may not grab yours. Do you like any of these titles? If not, what titles grab you and make you want to read them and why? And most importantly, how do you come up with titles for your stories and posts?

13 thoughts on “I’m Terrible At Creating Blog Titles.

  1. Great posting on an interesting topic. Don’t worry you are in good company because I can assure you even the blogs that have followers numbering in the thousands have to face the dreaded ‘title’ dilemma. Your words are true… if the title doesn’t catch ones eye one very rarely even bothers with the short review of the beginning of the posting. Solution…. if you write it they the title will come, no seriously I have found that just filling in the title with a fact about the posting to start and then as my posting goes through revisions most times some interesting catch words rise to the surface. If not fall back on words that make most people stop dead in their tracks and incorporate them into your title.

    1. 🙂 Definitely. Sometimes even taking a line out of the post and sticking it as a title’s good too. It just never seems as eloquent when I look at my titles in comparison to others. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Thanks for the link and the shoutout. I really appreciate it. You are right about titles. They attract attention, and I have a hard time coming up with good ones.

  3. I find I have to begin with a working title, even if I amend it later, because I’m so prone to writing and writing and writing and then totally forgetting to call it something, and then publishing with NO TITLE AT ALL, and then cursing myself for a damned fool, because it’s flown away through all my social medias, UNNAMED! At that point, anything I do is at best a messy kind of damage control.

    I often take a line from the piece I write, or try to draw inspiration from the ‘spirit’ of the piece. I don’t bother with clickbait because it doesn’t seem to help me at all, anyway!

    You managed to write very eloquently on not knowing what to write, though. I like it 🙂

    1. Thank you! I’ve gone both ways so I know how you feel. And I like the ‘spirit’ of the piece, like it’s a living thing, a spirit animal. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

      1. I’m so glad! :). I’m always afraid of linking others’ posts because I’m afraid they’re going to be embarrassed by what I associated with their links. I’m glad you’re pleased and thank you for the follow, I appreciate it.

  4. I struggle so much with my titles. I usually wait till I’ve finished the post before I even think of a title. I agree with you – a great title will grab me and make me want to read the post. I know you shouldn’t judge a blog post by it’s title but we still do!

Tell me your thoughts.

